My Food Mentality | My Foodie Feelings

It’s officially that post-Christmas, post-New Year season where diet companies go crazy and convince you that everything you ate over Christmas was evil and you need to instantly drop ten pounds.  As I’ mentioned in the first ever post of this series, I used to have a relatively toxic relationship with food; in fact, 15 year old Jasmine would have bought into every fad diet she could get her hands on at this time of year. However, none of it even crossed my mind this year… and it made me realise how far I’ve come with my relationship with food, so I thought I’d do a little post about it.

I ate a tonne of rubbish food over Christmas.  Of course I did, it was Christmas!  And honestly, for maybe the first time ever, I don’t have a single regret about it.  I’m really done dieting and negatively counting calories (I’ll touch on this a little bit more later) and feeling bad because I’ve eaten what I’ve wanted!  At the end of the day, life is really short and I’m not going to remember the 10 consecutive After Eights I chose to eat on Boxing Day, so why not just enjoy what I’m eating at the time?  I want to be healthy – I really want to work on improving both my body and my mind this year but I’m going about it in a very different way to how I used to.

I’m done with dieting.  I don’t want to starve myself or cut out food groups and convince myself that my stomach is rumbling because I’m doing the right thing… I want to be able to listen to my body.  Yes, I overindulged myself at Christmas and I’m obviously not going to eat like that all the time, but I’m also not going to eat tiny portions of foods that I don’t like under the pretence that they’re “healthy”.  Now that I’m back at Uni and have been able to plan my meals and shop for just me, I have been eating a lot better – probably the best I have since I started first year, and even though it’s only been a week I can already feel the effects of the way I’ve been eating and it’s great.

I have had a piece (if not multiple) of fruit and veg with every single meal, had 3 balanced meals a day (That’s a big deal for me – I’m a massive breakfast hater), drank a lot of water, and cooked freshly everyday.  As well as this, I’ve been more economical with the food that I buy, and I’ve properly got my love and appreciation for food back in a healthy place.  I’m really enjoying trying different meals, chucking vegetables into everything, and really exploring the things that work for me.  I want to do more recipes on here (I have a couple coming up) as well as more food diaries (Remember when I used to do food diaries?  I miss those!  You can find one herebecause I’m honestly just having a really good time exploring this new journey.

I think the main difference now is that I’m not eating well to lose weight, I’m eating well because it’s what my body deserves.  I’m in a really good place with body confidence and self-appreciation at the moment and yeah, with the exercise and food I’m eating there probably will be a difference because I’m changing things up, but any body change will be more of a side-effect, not the ultimate goal.  

This is the best place I’ve been with food in a really long time, and I can’t wait to keep progressing and really see what happens.

Look out for more foodie stuff this year because I have some plans!  How are you feeling about food at the moment?

Lots of love,

Jas xx

 

BLOGLOVIN’ |  TWITTER  |  INSTAGRAM | FACEBOOK

3 thoughts on “My Food Mentality | My Foodie Feelings

  1. Meera BP says:

    I think this is a great way to look at food! Personally I’ve had struggles with certain things and my relationship with food really yoyos, but this Christmas I’ve been the same as you! Eating healthy shouldn’t be about losing weight but about nourishing your body properly! Great post c

    LoneTeenTraveller | Travel Fashion Lifestyle

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.