Late Night Ramblings Pt. 4 | Negativity

Hey it’s another late night ramblings, (maybe you’re lucky or maybe I’m just having real trouble sleeping…), but yeah, it’s 2am, I’m wide awake, and I figured why not have a little chat about negativity?

*Disclaimer: it’s now 3am… it’s taken me an hour to write a paragraph so far, not only am I sleep deprived but I’m also re-watching RuPaul’s Drag Race for the millionth time so I’m very distracted*

Over the years I’ve done my fair share of group work, (I feel like everybody has at some point in their life), and sometimes… you can’t always get who you want.  Every so often you find that you’re stuck with the negative nelly, the one who does nothing but complain… or worst… just sit there silently with a look of utter disapproval.  I’ve been in this situation one too many times, and unless you are that negative one I’m sure a lot of you guys have too.  In short, it’s not fun.

We all have bad days, and we all let those grey clouds overtake us from time to time (I’ll be the first to say I’m not always the nicest person to be around), but sometimes we forget how much a negative mood can affect other people.  Think about it: you throw a single pebble in a river and it sets off a ripple effect, the same way a negative mood can bring down those around you.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying “hide your sadness because it will upset others”, because you should never do that, that’s not good for you.  But there’s a difference between sharing your thoughts and feelings and being outwardly negative.  Do you not like other people’s ideas?  Do you think they’re “lame” or do things differently to how you do them?  There’s a nice, mature way to say it instead of bringing them down with your negativity.

Sour moods can affect others more than you think, so if you’re having one of those days when everything is making you mad, try an alternative way to deal with it.  Talk to people about what’s wrong, take some slow deep breaths and try to see the positive side, or maybe have a “tough love” moment with yourself and realise that you can’t take out your negativity on other people.  We’ve all been culprits, we’ve all been victims, and we can all figure out how to better ourselves in these kind of situations.

Sorry if this makes no sense, it’s now 3:38 in the morning but hey, it came from the heart!  Tell me what you think, let’s start some discussion in the comments…

Lots of love,

Jas xx

 

BLOGLOVIN’ |  TWITTER  |  INSTAGRAM

2 thoughts on “Late Night Ramblings Pt. 4 | Negativity

Leave a Reply

