Late Night Ramblings Pt. 3 | The Unknown

Here I am, up late at night (again) with my computer, thinking about life and how weird this summer has been for me.  I had all these plans for an amazing time with specific people doing specific things, and whilst some of those have remained the same, some things have been completely different… and I wouldn’t have it any other way.  

I’ve always hated the unknown.  I hate being in the dark and not being able to look into the future… Not in the sense that I plan every aspect of my life to a T, but in the sense that I like to know vaguely where things are going.  Usually, when I’m left with uncertainty I spontaneously combust, but recently I’ve learnt that the unknown can be a real beautiful thing.  

You see, sometimes you’re so convinced that you’re on the right path, and then something blows that path out of the water and for so long it can feel like your world is crumbling around you.  However, sometimes the veer off that path is the thing you need to push you in the right direction.  I hate to be that person that’s like “I found myself” because that isn’t what this is at all… But since I’ve had to face the unknown I’ve learnt way more about myself than I knew before.  Nothing drastic, but I sure am stronger than I thought and I’ve learnt that sometimes the most unexpected people can come through in times of crisis, and one of those people was myself (God that sounds cheesy). 

But basically what I’m trying to say is that the unknown is scary, and confusing and most of the time we think it’s the last thing we want, but sometimes it’s the one thing we truly need.  And I wouldn’t have had the summer of growth that I’ve had without it.  As much as it’s hard to jump into things with so much uncertainty, sometimes that’s the only way you can grow.  From now on, I’m going to try and make more of an effort to embrace the unknown.  I have no idea what’s going to happen (obviously), but I’m looking forward to it.

So here you go, another edition of late night word vomit.  Let me know your thoughts on the unknown…

Lots of love,

Jas xx

 

BLOGLOVIN’ |  TWITTER  |  INSTAGRAM

5 thoughts on “Late Night Ramblings Pt. 3 | The Unknown

  1. Natasha says:

    So true! I go through these phases of being really freaked out about not knowing where I’m going or what the future holds, and then it contributes to those anxious feelings and I scramble to try and plan things out and fix everything, and it never works out like that as then life comes along and throws up an alternative that usually ends up working out so much better. I think like you, I’m trying to let go a bit more and relinquish control and just enjoy the ride. – Tasha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

