My Thoughts on The Education System…

Sat at my computer today I had no idea what I wanted to write about… Honestly revision has left me with a very bad case of writers block, so I figured I’d just try and pin my current thoughts down in this post…

Exam season has always been a tricky one but I reckon this has probably been the most taxing one I’ve had so far.  At school it was a lot easier: we had mocks and past papers and such a clear idea of what the exam would be like, so by the time it came to this point of the year things felt a lot less… confusing.  However, this time around I feel a little… numb, it’s like revision has turned me into a machine: wake up, eat, revise, repeat.

I understand why we have exams; there are only so many ways you can attempt to measure how hard people have been working.  However, I feel like the older I get the more I question whether exams are an accurate measure of my intelligence.  I’m a humanities student, my whole degree is centred around analysing and writing, however I find myself panicking, trying to remember facts and quotes, because it feels like at the end of the day, my final grade is mostly riding on how much I can remember at a specific hour.  

I’m not completely critiquing the exam system, I understand why they’re implemented, but I feel like I just end up briefly learning things to get a good grade, whereas the idealist in me wants to learn for the enjoyment of furthering my knowledge.  There were GCSE’s that I managed to get high grades in because I crammed so hard and I learnt information without really understanding it.  Does that mean that I am very smart when it comes to physics, for example?  No, not at all, I don’t understand most of it, I just happened to work hard at remembering things for those exams.

I love learning.  I actually love furthering my knowledge, but for me, examinations have taken part of the joy out of it for me.  I don’t know… when it comes to education I can see the flaws in the system but I also have no better ideas so I guess I’m stuck between a rock and a hard place…

Did this have a cohesive train of thought?  Probably not, but it was me spilling word vomit onto a page haha, hope you got something from this?  Feel free to leave your thoughts and comments below, I’m happy to engage in debate!

Lots of love,

Jas xx

 

BLOGLOVIN’ |  TWITTER  |  INSTAGRAM

12 thoughts on “My Thoughts on The Education System…

  1. annasadventures25 says:

    Oh my word, I couldn’t agree more!!
    I am also a humanities student, and I feel like I’m just revising to pass an exam – not because I WANT to learn these things! I’ve always been a big believer that exams should test knowledge not memory, but unfortunately the exam system doesn’t seem to work like that. It’s such a shame, especially when you know that you know what you’re talking about but your memory isn’t particularly strong for quotes etc.
    Good luck with the rest of your revision and exams!
    Anna xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. TheOriginalPhoenix says:

    Yeah the American public education system is a joke a lot of the time. Other countries don’t even assign homework or give standardized tests and their students do much better.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Natasha says:

    Another really interesting post Jasmine, I never enjoyed sitting exams when I was at school or college either, and sometimes I did feel like I was just regurgitating information to be graded on, so it would be nice to see the system changed or adapted so it showed off people’s individuals skills better, but then who knows how they’d do that! Like you though, I love learning, and I wish there were more creative and curious ways that schools implemented that as it should be fun too, so I know what you mean! I hope your exams go well too! – Tasha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

