Project 2017 | Down Days…

In honour of Mental Health Awareness month I thought I’d go a little personal today and talk about how, for most of us, happiness doesn’t come about 24/7, and that’s okay.  

In late December/January I started my Project 2017, where each month I try and draw attention to what made me happy, in an attempt to have a way more positive year than 2016.  So far it’s been going really well, and I have to say that most of this year has been so much happier than last year for me, however I still get sad sometimes, I still have days where I shut down, because these kind of days are natural, and we shouldn’t be ashamed of them.

To say that this year has been “easy” so far would be a lie.  I was hit with a lot of serious stuff in March that’s still having a bit of an effect on certain areas of my life.  A lot of the time it’s not easy dealing with it all, but what makes it worse is when my mind takes over and tells me that I don’t have the right to be sad, because it could be worse.  The thing is, in life, there’s probably always someone going through worse and suffering with more but every feeling you have is legitimate, and if you’re feeling down you have the right to express/confront those feelings.

The most important thing to do in these situations is finding out the best way to deal with your sadness, and this can vary from person to person.  For me, I tend to withdraw, need some alone time, or go very numb, so I’ve learnt over time that it’s best for me to have some “me time”: lie in bed watching Netflix and feeling sorry for myself, or eat a whole pizza with no regrets.  Yeah, it may take a few days of sleeping and isolation, but I’ve figured out that for me, that’s what it takes to bounce back.  However, every person is different, so find what works for you.

Of course, this can be the result of body dis-morphia or depression or anxiety, and in these cases it can be a lot more intense, but whether you are aware of a mental health issue or not you shouldn’t be ashamed of feeling down every once in a while.  Find out how to deal with it, and if you feel like you’re sad too often, it can’t hurt to talk to someone, whether that be a friend, a parent or a professional.

This was the result of some late night rambling, hope you enjoy!

Lots of love,

Jas xx

 

BLOGLOVIN’ |  TWITTER  |  INSTAGRAM

16 thoughts on “Project 2017 | Down Days…

  1. Natasha says:

    Such an important and great post to read here Jasmine. The more we talk about these things the less the stigma is, and it’s so important to preach the message of looking after ourselves, as our mental health is just as important as the physical and I hope you’re feeling OK too lovely! – Tasha

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Candace says:

    It’s so important to speak out but often it’s the hardest thing in the world to do. I’m like you in that I retreat back in on myself and want to be alone. I find it so hard to talk to others about my feelings as this is how I was raised, just stay quiet and I know now how much more damage that has done.

    Liked by 1 person

    • thoughtsfromjasmine says:

      I’m glad you related to this, and I agree it’s so important to speak it even though it’s hard! Like you I’m so used to retreating, but recently I’ve gotten better at texting people to tell them I’m having a day to myself, and then talking to them about it when I’m feeling a little better. Perhaps this could work for you?
      Jas xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

