My Food Mentality | My 4 Favourite (Healthy) Summer Snacks

Snacking seems to often be portrayed as a bad thing… when people try to lose weight one of the first things they try to cut out is snacking.  But honestly, snacking isn’t a bad thing at all!  I’ve been trying really hard to listen to my body recently; eat when I’m hungry, stop when I’m full, and yes, sometimes this will mean that I need to snack.  So, instead of seeing snacking as something super evil, maybe look at what you’re snacking on, because this is what makes the real difference.

You see, saying snacking is bad is like saying eating food is bad.  The action itself is fine, it’s what you fill it with is the problem.  I’m not saying fill your snacks with fruit and veg constantly… nothing is wrong with the occasional chocolate bar or packet of crisps, but because of the way that I’m trying to eat now, I’m trying to work on balancing everything, including my snacks.  So here are some of my favourites at the moment:

1) Apples and Peanut Butter

I went through a stage of eating this all the time when I was a little younger, and it will always be a favourite.  It’s pretty self-explanatory: slice an apple, spoon some peanut butter into a bowl (Or just dip straight from the jar… I don’t judge) and then get dipping.  This is a pretty good one because:

  • Apples contain 1 of your 5 a day
  • Peanut butter, whilst sometimes considered fatty, contains more unsaturated fat (the “good fats”) than saturated fat (the “bad fats”)

2) Anything Dipped in Hummus

It’s safe to say I have a bit of a secret love affair with hummus… And honestly it probably gets me eating a lot more vegetables than I would usually, because veg seems to taste better dipped in hummus.  I’ll usually chop up a carrot or some cucumber (or both) into sticks and go crazy.  If you are a true culinary goddess you’ll probably make your own hummus… But I am a poor Uni student with basic culinary equipment so I tend to buy the reduced fat hummus from Tesco.  This snack is good because:

  • You work in vegetables while also having them taste extra good (1 of your 5 a day again)
  • Research shows that hummus as a snack can curb your appetite and in doing so prevent overeating

3) Frozen Grapes

Okay if you have never had frozen grapes run to your freezer and shove a bunch of them in there right now!  I usually go with the black grapes (my favourite), so I’ll just buy a bunch, wash them and take them off of the stems, and then fill a container/plastic sealed bag with the loose grapes and stick them in the freezer.  This is one of my favourite summer snacks because:

  • They’re cool and refreshing
  • They taste like candy
  • Fruit again, so 1 of your 5 a day
  • Grapes are high in water content, so keep you hydrated in hotter months
  • They’re full of anti-oxidants which may help to prevent cancer and reduce risk of heart disease (research on that can be found here)

4) Alpen Light Bars

These are great when I want something sweet but I’m not craving fruit.  They’re tasty, light but filling, and easy to throw in your bag before you head out.  My favourites are the summer fruit ones, as the berries make me feel ready for summer (which I guess is the point).  I know that cereal bars are frequently chastised for their hidden sugars, but Alpen light bars are different:

  • They only have 60-70 calories
  • Contain only 0.7 grams of fat
  • And with 3.4 grams of sugar, they have one of the lowest sugar contents out there in a cereal bar

I stand by all of the snacks I’ve mentioned above, and they’re all ones I eat regularly in the summer, so I hope they’ve helped.  Remember that snacking doesn’t have to be a bad thing, just watch what you snack on occasionally.

Tell me if you try any, or if you have any that you think that I should try!

Lots of love,

Jas xx

 

BLOGLOVIN’ |  TWITTER  |  INSTAGRAM

 

19 thoughts on “My Food Mentality | My 4 Favourite (Healthy) Summer Snacks

  1. Beth Carney says:

    I completely agree with this post! And I am obsessed with eating grapes – whether they are frozen or not haha! So they are often my go to snack🙊 X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

