My Thoughts on Relationships – The Be-All-End-All?

I feel like there’s too much emphasis on relationships nowadays… If you’re not in one you’re met with pity, or expected to be actively looking for one, or have a valid excuse of why you’re not.  I don’t understand why no one seems to believe that people can be both single and happy.

I’ve gone through periods of being single, and I’ve gone through periods of being in a relationship and I’ve had periods of both insane happiness and intense sadness in both… believe it or not my relationship status does not drastically impact my mood.  People tend to assume that if you’re not with someone else you don’t have love in your life, or a shoulder to cry on, but the truth is I’m lucky to always have love in my life, whether I’m in a relationship or not.  

I happen to have amazing family and friends and enough self-love to be okay if I’m feeling insecure.  I have people to go to if I need support or someone to hang out with love exists in many forms and relationships are not the only type, in fact up until you find “the one” or whatever, they’re probably the most temporary type.  I feel like as a society we’re so quick to single shame and I’m really sick of it.

Don’t get me wrong, I have absolutely nothing against relationships (I’d be a total hypocrite if I did, I’m in one right now) but they’re not the be-all-end-all that everyone makes them out to be.  If you find someone you love who can offer mutual support and trust and you want to be together, then great that’s amazing, but don’t think that someone can’t feel just as amazing as you because they don’t have that.  It’s like kids believing they’re happier than other kids because they have more toys… That’s not how life works.  

Apologies if this was quite short, just needed to get a rant off of my chest.  Hope you guys are doing great, whatever your relationship status may be, and feel free to share your opinions in the comments!

Lots of love,

Jas xx

 

BLOGLOVIN’ |  TWITTER  |  INSTAGRAM

8 thoughts on “My Thoughts on Relationships – The Be-All-End-All?

  1. angelanoelauthor says:

    Having a healthy relationship to relationships is so important. As you point out, being in a relationship is another part of my life, but NOT my life. It took me a starter-marriage to figure this out. Good for you that you’re clear on the boundaries of what a relationship can be/should be!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

