Appreciation (A Mothers Day Post…)

I will happily hold my hands up and confess that I probably wasn’t the easiest child to deal with…

I had periods of cutting myself off from the world, I went through a whole depersonalisation thing last year, I used to be a nightmare with eating and weight loss, and when I got bad grades I didn’t just let it affect me, I lashed out to everyone around me.  Looking back on it I have put my parents through a whole lot of stress and concern, but they couldn’t have done a better job dealing with it.  

With everything we have going on, whether it be work, uni, school, personal stress or anything else, it’s sometimes very easy to take those people that put up with us for granted, but what we need to remember from time to time is that they don’t have to be there for us, they choose to.  Yeah, there’s this whole idea that family has to support you and love you as part of their duty, but I see it as a lot more than that.  My parents have sacrificed so much for me and they put so much effort into making sure that I’m fed and taken care of and have the opportunities to achieve all that I can, and in my opinion it shows that they don’t just do it “because they have to”, they do it because they love and care for me.  

I’m lucky to have an incredibly close relationship with my mum.  I tell her practically everything that goes on in my life, even the super boring stuff like what my essays are on, and she will listen, whether she’s genuinely interested or not.  She’s helped me through some super stressful times and somehow talking to her has the ability to calm me down, regardless of what’s going on in my life.  We binge watch TV shows together, read the same kind of books, share any sort of gossip we have, and I’m pretty sure she’s read every single blog post I’ve written (Hi mum).  

For everyone in the UK, Mother’s Day happens to be taking place tomorrow, and whilst it is not the only day I appreciate everything my mum does for me, I always get really reflective around this time.  Thinking about it, both my parents are amazing.  They’ve raised me and my sister, given us pretty great lives and they check up on me and make sure I’m okay all the time.  Sometimes it’s so easy to see our parents as “overprotective” or “smothering” but honestly I can’t even begin to put into words how much they’ve done for me in the 19 years I’ve been here, and I’ll most likely never be able to repay them for that (But the beautiful thing is, they’d never expect me to).  

I understand that everyone’s situation is different.  For you it might not be your parents or your family that are there for you unconditionally, but odds are there’s someone in this world that cares about you and loves you regardless of what you throw at them.  No, it’s not exactly practical to sing their praises 24/7, but every so often we need to turn to those people and make it clear how much we appreciate the effort they put in.  So, this mothers day (because I know you’re reading this, whether it’s today or tomorrow) I would like to say thank you to my mum.  Not only did she give me life, but she has put her all into making me the person I am now, and she’s responsible for all the possibilities and opportunities I have to look forward to in the future.

Hope you all have/find those people that love you unconditionally, tell me who yours is in the comments!

Lots of love,

Jas xx

 

BLOGLOVIN’ |  TWITTER  |  INSTAGRAM

15 thoughts on “Appreciation (A Mothers Day Post…)

  1. Natasha says:

    This was such a lovely post to read Jasmine! It sounds like you have a great relationship with your Mum and Dad, which is amazing and I know I couldn’t live without mine, no matter how far apart we are, so I definitely get what you were writing about here, and I’m like you, I always tell my parents the mundane things as well – like my daily routine, or what essays I had on too, I always wanted to share everything, so you’re not alone and I bet your parents are very proud of you too. A lovely blog post, ooh and my answers to your tag have been done for while now, just spacing out my blog posts so they don’t crowd people’s feeds!! – Tasha

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sunrx says:

    It’s amazing to pay a visit this site and reading the
    views of all mates regarding this post, while I am also keen of getting knowledge.

    Like

Leave a Reply

