My Food Mentality | Accepting My Body…

Recently I’ve been feeling a lot better about the way I look.

Have I been dieting? Nope. Lost weight? Not considerably. Finally sorted out my hair? Maybe one day…

Honestly, nothing about my appearance has really changed at all, and yet I’m able to look in the mirror and feel 10 times better about myself than I did this time last month (Or anytime in the last few years to be honest).  I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about it, and it pretty much all stems down to acceptance.  

Since my post about my insecurities, I’ve been trying a lot harder to feel more comfortable in the skin that I’m in.  I know that I’m not the skinniest or the tallest, or have the best hair or cutest smile, but that doesn’t mean that I can’t still be attractive.  I see people of all shapes and sizes who are all equally beautiful, and I’ve realised over time that a lot of that beauty stems from their confidence.  I’m a strong believer of the phrase fake it til you make it, because I believe that it genuinely works… I started by pretending that I liked the way that I looked and eventually I actually started to.  Don’t get me wrong, I still have days where I feel like a potato, everyone does… But those days are decreasing and that’s what matters.

It’s so easy to preach at people “embrace your flaws!” “Everything about you is beautiful!”, but the truth of the matter is none of that is going to mean anything if you don’t want to listen, and up until recently, I’ve never wanted to listen to it because I never thought I deserved to.  However, we all deserve to feel good about ourselves, and you’re the only one that can get yourself to that point.  

I have a history of issues with body-confidence and how I view myself, but this is the first time in a lot of years where I’ve felt like I’m steadily growing from them.  The journey to accepting yourself can be long and difficult, but I guarantee that eventually you’ll start improving.  Different things work for different people, and honestly there’s nothing wrong finding the method that works for you; for some it’s therapy, for others it’s (healthy!) weight loss, for me it was apparently gaining a little confidence and accepting who I am.  Find what works for you!

Thanks for reading, and remember that you are all beautiful, whether you choose to listen or not!

Lots of love,

Jas xx

 

BLOGLOVIN’ |  TWITTER  |  INSTAGRAM

32 thoughts on “My Food Mentality | Accepting My Body…

  1. L.R.@TheRink says:

    Hey Jas,

    I am not quite sure about how I stumbled across one of your posts but I am glad I did! Each post makes me want to read more! Great blog! I could feel you in this blog entry in particular. I guess almost every girl’s thought these days is about how she looks and she can just find flaws! Its a very engaging post!


    L.R.
    THE RINK

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Natasha says:

    I really loved this post Jasmine, just like your other one on your insecurities and how you’re overcoming them, it really struck a chord with me, especially the part about everyone, at any size, skin colour, hairstyle etc. being attractive, and all of it stemming from confidence. I agree so much, as the people I know how I’ve always looked up to and thought, you’re so cool and pretty, are the most confident of my friends, and they’re all so self-assured too, so like you, I know I need to work on my self-esteem and feeling more confident, so thank you again, for this amazing post Jasmine, these are really helping me! – Tasha

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bbbryony says:

    I loved reading this, i need to try and me more happy with my own body. I look at other people roughly the same shape as me and think you look fab you wouldn’t need to diet at all, you go girl! then i look at me and am like nah not happy, which is silly but you always seem to be more critical of yourself x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Charlotte says:

    This post was beautifully written and really inspiring. I’m constantly having issues with my body and I’m slowly starting to accept myself for who I am and realise that it’s okay to sometimes feel a bit crap. Thank you so much for sharing this with us, I feel so inspired by you x

    Liked by 1 person

    • thoughtsfromjasmine says:

      Awwww thank you! That really means a lot to be called inspiring! I’ve struggled with body issues and insecurity issues in general for so long and if I can make anyone at all feel more comfortable in their body I’ll be happy.
      Jas xx

      Like

  5. Grace Brown says:

    I love this, such a well written and inspirational post! I agree, it’s easy to focus on the flaws, yet there are so many amazing things about ourselves that we should focus on instead! I struggle a lot with self confidence, so I’m so glad I read this, as it’s inspired me to try and focus on the positives instead of the negatives, so thank you for writing such an amazing piece! Love your blog X

    Liked by 1 person

    • thoughtsfromjasmine says:

      Thanks so much you have no idea how much it means to me to have such lovely feedback! It is so easy to focus on your flaws and I’ve been a serious culprit of doing just that for years and years. We all need to be more body positive when it comes to ourselves! We’re amazing and we need to start believing it!
      Jas xx

      Like

  6. Oriana says:

    If it was as easy as saying “ok i’ll embrace my flaws now” it would be awesome. I’ve had to learn to accept myself too, but for me it’s never really achieved in a way ! Great post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • thoughtsfromjasmine says:

      Yeah, I’ve struggled with it for over 4 years. It’s been really hard and it’s definitely not something that happens overnight! It’s only recently I’ve been able to look at myself and actually by happy, these things take time. Thank you!
      Jas xx

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Modern Gypsy says:

    I can so relate to this post. I’ve been struggling with body image issue S all my life. It’s starting to get a bit better – I’m more accepting of myself – but I still keep slipping up. This gives me hope that the slips will slowly become further and further apart. Acceptance is key. Thank you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Terra Bryant says:

    Great read!!! Acceptance is key to almost anything, especially feeling better about our bodies and the way we look. I know I’ve struggled in this area too, so keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

