Just a little Talk…

If you follow me on Twitter or read the little ramble at the end of my last post or maybe what I wrote in my Project 2017 update… (okay I kind of mention it a lot), you may know that I’ve been stuck in a bit of a rut recently.  A lot of February left me feeling really insecure and from that I lost my way a little…

I’m in University, I can’t just stall my life, so obviously I kept up with my work and blogging; I had posts up three times a week and met all my deadlines, but I don’t know… It felt like I was just going through the motions instead of being genuinely invested in what I was doing.  Because of that my concentration and effort regarding work dropped a little, both in school and with blogging.

I’m really enjoying blogging at the moment.  It’s incredibly therapeutic and rewarding and I’ve only been doing it for like 2 months and a couple weeks and I love it so much, but I want to be proud of everything I post.  Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing on my blog so far that I’m really disappointed with, but I feel like towards the end of February my posts got quite safe and generic.  This was partly because as I said, I was just going through the motions, but also because it’s so easy to get lost in niches and labels and I had no idea where my blog was at regarding those, which threw me off a little.

I’ve been using the last few months to test out content and decide what I want this blog to be, and I think I’m starting to figure it out.  My favourite posts are the ones where I’m open and honest and talk about my experiences and my thoughts and what’s bothering me and I want to do more of those, because those are the ones that make me happiest.  I’m quite a shy person – once I get to know you it’s hard to get me to shut up, but before we get to that point… not so much.  Therefore, it is rare that I voice my strong opinions in public.  One of the main reasons I started this blog in the first place was that because of this, I have so many thoughts and opinions bubbling up inside my head and waiting to erupt out and this was the place to vomit words onto a page and let them go…  Don’t get me wrong, I love completing tags and awards and I love being nominated by other bloggers and thought about for these, so you’re still gonna get those, as well as food diaries and the occasional “how-to” post.  However, my main content is going to be quite personal and probably consist of me venting a lot because in case you hadn’t realised, I have a lot of internalised anger.  

This was incredibly rambley… I just really needed to get this out because, as I said ranting on the internet has been helping me a lot.  I’m posting every Monday, Wednesday and Saturday and hope to continue this.

Thanks for sticking around til the end!  Hope you like my upcoming posts, because they really are a reflection of me as a person,

Lots of love,

Jas xx

 

BLOGLOVIN’ |  TWITTER  |  INSTAGRAM

12 thoughts on “Just a little Talk…

  1. emmamereta says:

    This is exactly why I started blogging 8 years ago 😁! Through Uni, I wanted somewhere to be able to vent as well as sort of documenting my life 😃. It’s so therepeutic! It’s also great to read because every single person is unique and you can get more personal than rants and thoughts 😄. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Natasha says:

    I definitely understand, sometimes it’s a lot easier to write things down and get them in order in this kind of journal format, and you’re right, it can help boost confidence and make it easier to voice your opinions too and I love these honest posts form you Jasmine, they’re always thought provoking and interesting and get me thinking about my own experiences and life, so if you’re sharing more of them, I’ll definitely be reading them! – Tasha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

