The Zoeva Warm Spectrum Palette – In Depth February Review

So here is the second instalment of my new monthly review series, in which I give you an in depth review of a product/service by writing about:

  • Details on the product
  • First impressions of what it includes
  • My opinions 1 week later
  • Is it worth the money?

This month’s product is going to be the Zoeva Warm Spectrum Eyeshadow Palette, because I’ve been looking for a warm-toned eyeshadow palette that contains a good amount of matte shades for a while now, and after doing some research I settled on this one.  So I thought I’d tell you whether it was worth it.

*DISCLAIMER: Zoeva had no influence on this review whatsoever – I bought the palette myself because I simply wanted a new eyeshadow palette*

Details on the Product

This palette is by Zoeva Cosmetics, a high end beauty brand (although a little cheaper than MAC and Urban Decay), and comes with 15 shades.  Out of these 15 there are 9 matte and 6 shimmer shades, in a variety of warm-toned colours.

Although Zoeva Cosmetics have their own website, I live in the UK and so it was easier to purchase the palette through Cult Beauty, where it was £28.50.

First Impressions of What it Includes

So when I got it, I was initially very impressed!  I loved the packaging; both the outside of the actual palette and the box it came in where a really cool material (I don’t know how to describe it, but it’s fun to stroke…).  The palette is quite big, but is able to fit in my big makeup bag (just) and opens like a book, but has a magnetic opening so you don’t have to worry about it falling open in your bag.  Without swatching, but simply looking at the palette, it appears that you get:

4 Highlight/Inner Corner Shades…

  • WR100: The peachiest of the 4.  This is a matte shade which is an incredibly pale peach – very similar to the colour of a really pale but pink-toned foundation.
  • WR110: This is the only shimmer out of these 4 highlight shades, which comes across as an icy-toned white/grey.
  • WR130: Again, this one is matte, and probably the palest of the four, and appears to have a slightly lilac undertone.
  • WR140: This matte shade is the most yellow toned of the four, and seems to be a really pale beige colour.

3 Brownish Colours…

  • WR060: This is one of the 2 matte browns, and is quite dark and warm-toned.  It seems like a perfect chocolatey brown.  This was one of the main reasons I bought the palette, as due to my skin colour (which I guess would be considered medium-dark) I find it really hard to find flattering matte browns, so I can’t wait to try this one.
  • WR120: This is the other of the 2 matte browns, but it lighter and slightly more cool-toned than the first.
  • WR150: This is the only shimmer of the browns, which gives it a slight golden quality, whilst still retaining gold undertones.

3 Purple Colours…

  • WR050: This is a shimmer shade, which appears to be a reddish-purple with an almost foily finish.
  • WR080: Again, a shimmer (although it looks a lot less shimmery than the first…) in more of a plum verging on brown.
  • WR090: This is the only matte shade out of the purples, and is quite a typical, vibrant purple.

3 Reds/Greens…

  • WR010: This one intrigued me most when I saw it online, as it appears to be a shimmery khaki shade with reddish undertones?  I’m really intrigued to see what it looks like swatched.
  • WR040: I also really liked the look of this shade, as I’ve really been getting into sheer orange-toned lip products, and I wanted to test out orange shadow on my eyes.  This is a matte orangey-red toned shade, although I would say that it is closer to orange than to red.
  • WR070: I’m not quite sure how I feel about this shadow yet… it’s like a pink, corally shade, (I guess you could call it salmon?) with a slight shimmer to it.

A Black and a Grey…

  • WR020: A very simple matte grey.  I don’t know whether I’ll use this?  I’ve found that grey eyeshadow doesn’t really suit me, but I’ll give it a go.
  • WR030: Again, this is a very simple matte black.  I’ve been looking for a nice matte black for when I do smokey eyes, and right now I’m using one from MUA, so it will be nice to see if this high end one is really that different from my £1 drugstore one.

My Opinions 1 Week Later

I loved… Most of the palette!

Honestly I really love this palette!  It’s so versatile!  The colours vary enough for me to be creative and switch up my looks but they’re safe enough to be colours I could wear both on a daily basis and for something more interesting at night.  I love that it’s mostly matte as I am a sucker for a matte eyeshadow, however even the shimmers in this palette aren’t too glittery, and provide a nice, subtle shimmer that still pops.  The formula is also amazing – they are really pigmented and long lasting and go on so smoothly, I’m really enjoying blending them out and experimenting!

  • I love the cool toned brown as a base colour to put all over my lid before I start on an eyeshadow look, as it really compliments my skin tone.  Also, the warm-toned brown is great for a one colour eye look for dark-skinned girls to provide that no make-up make-up look.
  • The 2 most surprising colours were the khaki colour and the coral-pink.  When I first put the khaki on my eye I was really confused because it came out as a reddish/ burgundy colour, but then I realised that this is one of those iridescent shadows, that switches from a khaki-green to a burgundy depending on the way that the light hits it, which only makes it cooler in my opinion…
  • The coral-pink came out a lot more golden than I was expecting!  In fact, I would go as far as to say that it’s a rather sheer, rose-gold.  Honestly, the colour is truly beautiful and although I love wearing this one for a lighter look.

I didn’t like… The highlight shades

This palette’s one (well, I suppose you could say four…) flaw is the selection of highlight shades the palette contains.  Whilst they look good and varied in the box, they come out the exact same pure white colour when swatched.  Not only do they lack variation, or any colour at all, but the formula of these is terrible.  Although pigmented, they are incredibly chalky and come out patchy .  If I had tried each shadow separately instead of in a palette, I wouldn’t have believed that these came from the same make as the other shadows.

Is it Worth the Money?

So the palette’s total cost is £28.50 for 15 shades, which works out to £1.90 per shade.  However, as someone who would use all shades apart from the 4 highlight shades, it really works out to £2.59 per shade.

Do I think the price is worth it? Yes.  This palette is gorgeous, and even without the four chalky ones, I now have 11 amazing shades that I can get great use out of.  I’m a simple kind of person when it comes to eyeshadow – before this the only thing I ever really used was my Urban Decay NAKED Palette, but since purchasing this palette I have used it for every makeup look I’ve done.  

If you’re looking for a palette that’s nice, versatile, and relatively reasonably priced considering the quality and the use you’ll get out of it, I cannot recommend this palette enough!  Honestly, I am so happy with this purchase.  So head down to Cult Beauty and buy yourself your own Warm Neutrals Palette!

Hope you enjoyed February’s review!  If there’s anything in particular you want me to review in the future, feel free to contact me or leave a comment below!

Lots of love,

Jas xx

 

BLOGLOVIN’ |  TWITTER  |  INSTAGRAM

6 thoughts on “The Zoeva Warm Spectrum Palette – In Depth February Review

  1. Natasha says:

    Good to hear you liked the palette, I always find these reviews as it’s always good to hear if items like these are worth the money and I do like palettes as the colour combinations are always more fun to play around with and experiment on. I do like the shades in the palette too, especially as I like those warmer tones for during the day so thanks for the recommendation Jasmine! – Tasha

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gabija says:

    Loved this post! I’ve wanted to try a Zoeva palette for months, but now may be the time to go on Cult Beauty haha-the shades look & sound stunning!

    Gabija | everylittlethingblog.weebly.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

