My Food Mentality| Feb Food Diary (for Students)

As I mentioned in my food mentality post, I am trying to eat healthily (NOTE: not diet, just eat 3 balanced meals a day) while also not spending a ridiculous amount of money on food.  I change my meals weekly because I like variety and I get bored of the same thing very quickly, but I thought I would give you a breakdown of the meals a typical day might include from time to time…

Breakfast

  • Fruit & Nut Granola
  • Almond Milk
  • Cup of Coffee with Almond Milk (If I have a particularly long lecture day)

40p per serving (£3.79 Initial buy)

I’m the worst when it comes to breakfast – I rarely eat it, and I know that it’s the most important meal of the day or whatever, but it just feels like there’s never any time for it.  That’s why at the moment I am trying to keep breakfast as simple as possible… it takes like 2 seconds to chuck granola and milk in a bowl, and I find it a lot tastier than other cereals, so it’s working out well at the moment.  Not only do I prefer the taste of almond milk to regular milk, but it’s better for you and it lasts longer (milk expires too quickly at Uni when I don’t have a family to share it with).

Lunch

  • Jacket Sweet Potato (Microwaved)
  • Light Coleslaw
  • Lil’ bit of butter
  • Chopped up cucumber on the side (If I feel like it’s not enough)

39p per serving (£2.60 Initial buy)

Okay, at the moment I’m having a bit of an obsession with coleslaw… I have no idea where it stemmed from but I’m really getting into it.  Yeah, it’s not the healthiest thing in the world because of the mayonnaise and whatnot, but we all need a bit of fat in our lives and I like to justify it with the fact that I use a sweet potato instead of a regular potato, so it balances out…  Occasionally if I’m feeling particularly hungry and I don’t think the potato’s gonna be enough, I’ll slice up like a third of a cucumber and pick at that on the side as well.

Dinner

  • 2 Mini Naan Breads (or 1 big one I guess?)
  • Tomato puree
  • Sliced tomatoes
  • Basil
  • Ricotta

88p per serving (£3.99 Initial buy)

I’m addicted to pizza… like it’s a proper addiction.  However this is a nice, (albeit, more tomatoey…) healthier alternative.  It’s pretty simple – you smear the naan breads with tomato puree, then top with some sliced tomato, chuck on a few basil leaves, dot with 3 or 4 teaspoons of ricotta and then stick in the oven for 10/15 mins.  It’s incredibly simple and tastes amazing as well as making me miss pizza a little less.

It can be really difficult to eat healthily especially when you’re on a budget, but these 3 meals are incredibly filling as well as being relatively good for you and pretty cheap per serving!  Like I said I change what I eat quite a lot, so this is just a small little selection of ideas/inspiration, but depending on how well this post goes down I may do more of these in the future.

Tell me whether I should in the comments!

Lots of love,

Jas xx

 

BLOGLOVIN’ |  TWITTER  |  INSTAGRAM

14 thoughts on “My Food Mentality| Feb Food Diary (for Students)

  1. Ocean Bream says:

    Yes please do more of these! I am trying to eat healthier on a low budget, but so far all I’ve been doing is boiling lentils and brown rice. Not very creative at all. Loved your ‘sort-of’ pizzas. I will be giving them a try 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Natasha says:

    Loved this, really useful toolkit for healthy eating on a budget so these are really handy, especially as I’m trying to eat more healthily now and try out different recipes, so this is great. I love the dinner option you came up with too, I love basil and ricotta, nice and versatile and naan bread is always tasty! – Tasha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

