Project 2017 | My January

So, during my 12 days of blogging I spoke about starting a series called project 2017, where each month I rounded up how my resolution to make 2017 a more positive year was going.  I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about how I wanted to lay out these posts, and in the end I decided the easiest way would be to take you through my month, complete with my struggles, worries, discoveries and resolutions in chronological order.  So, without further ado, here is my January…

The New Year started off pretty great actually… I rang in the New Year with some of my closest friends and came home to family that love me immensely.  With my new blog and mentality, 2017 was already shaping up to be a good one.  There was a little bit of stress when it came to getting my coursework (which I hadn’t touched since Christmas) submitted on time, but I got it done nevertheless and was able to keep 2017 positive.

Going back to University left me a little nervous… It was the first time I’d really been away from everyone from a long time and I was worried that nobody was going to care about, or even acknowledge the fact that I was back (I’m very used to being invisible).  However, within about 2 minutes of being back I was jumping and screaming with my friend who ran down to say hi, and I have to say I felt a little loved.

I was determined to make this a term of new experiences… so I kicked this off with a Pilates class, and I now may have a slight obsession with Pilates… I get so anxious all the time and it was the most calming experience, honestly I finally understood what it meant to be “zen” and I highly recommend it to absolutely anyone!  It’s exercising without having to sweat, and you walk away from it with your abs and thighs and everything feeling a little bit tighter.  Making Pilates part of my weekly routine has definitely contributed to staying positive!

I am really figuring out who my close friends are… I understand when it comes to flatmates and seminar groups you’re sort of just randomly shoved together, but it still used to hurt a little to see people forming little groups and not quite knowing if I was welcome (I’m an insecure person, I need actual validation and I don’t just invite myself to things).  I think the break allowed me to step back, look at everyone I’d met and think about who had been there for me when we were all separated by distance.  I can now identify who I’m closest to and who I have the most solid friendships with.  With friendships like the ones I’ve made, the little things that used to hurt roll off my back now.

If you really want something you have to go out and get it… And this January I really did.  I always kick myself for missing out things I wanted to do because I was “too shy” or I “didn’t know how to do it”, and I decided that it was better late than never to stop doing that.  Sat in my room on a Wednesday afternoon, I thought about La La Land and the fact that I’d never really got out there and let people hear me sing… So I swallowed my fear, messaged a couple friends, and next thing I knew we were singing in a bar at an Open Mic night.  It was one of the most rewarding spontaneous decisions that I’ve ever made and honestly it made my week.  It just goes to show, it’s never too late to start making things happen.

So there you have it – if January is a glimpse of the year that I have to come, then it’s shaping up to be a pretty amazing one.  I’m taking better care of myself, caring less about those who don’t care about me and facing my fears, which is all resulting in a better version of myself.  Hope you’ve enjoyed your little look into my January!  I’ll be back this time next month to tell you how February held up!

Hope you guys have had a good January!  Feel free to share stories below!

Lots of love,

Jas xx

BLOGLOVIN’ |  TWITTER  |  INSTAGRAM

6 thoughts on “Project 2017 | My January

  1. Nikki O. says:

    Your post kind of reminds me of a quote I hear often ” Do one thing everyday that scars you” 🙂 Singing in front of people can be scary sometimes. I remember just a few weeks ago I finally sang solo at a Karaoke Night. It was a experience I never thought I would have but when I look back I was happy that I did it. 🙂 Loved this post! I really related to my own new year while reading this!

    Nikki O.
    herdaringthoughts.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

