What If… (Inspired by La La Land)

In celebration of finishing my exams yesterday (!!!) I went to go see La La Land and (without spoiling anything) it really got my thinking about life.  The songs were absolutely fantastic, it was beautifully choreographed and the ending personally left me with one resounding message: you don’t want to look back on your life with regret and think “what if”.

Right now I like the direction my life is going in; I’ve got this blog, and Uni, and some amazing friends and I’m really growing as a person and learning how to manage my feelings, but sometimes I forget that time is fleeting and every day we slowly grow older.  My years so far have been a bit of a blur… 13 years ago I was a tiny 6 year old saying “maybe one day I’ll publish a book” and now here I am at 19, still saying the same thing.  La La Land not only left me in awe, wishing I was that talented, but kind of left me with a new lease on life, if you will.

I want to live my life to the fullest so that I can look back on it in 20,30,50 years time and know that I at least attempted everything I wanted to do.  I want to sing more in front of people (which is going to be a struggle, but I’m getting there), I want to try new things, meet new people, make a difference,write a book, put myself out there… I have a countless list of things that will make my life more fulfilling, and nothings gonna be done until I get started by myself.

La La Land also reminded me that in life you never get everything that you want, but you’ll never know what was meant to be until you try.  I’m only 19, I have no idea how my future is going to turn out, but I know that I’m going to work as hard as possible to make it as awesome as I can before it’s too late.

Hope you’re working towards what you want to do too,

Lots of love,

Jas xx

 

BLOGLOVIN’ |  TWITTER  |  INSTAGRAM

6 thoughts on “What If… (Inspired by La La Land)

  1. Donna O says:

    I cannot wait to see La La Land and was interested by your take on it. Being another 13 years older than you I too have those moments of what I want to do and achieve more before getting even older! Being a teacher, I live in half term cycles and it’s amazing how quickly they’re passing. I shall strive to achieve more 💪🏻 So not to have those possible regrets.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Parul Thakur says:

    I haven’t watched the movie yet but reading your post made me think that it must be an inspiring one. You are on the right track. I was clueless at 19 and though I learnt all along, I wish I had a blog at 19 😉
    Good luck and you will rock with those lessons.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

