12 Days of Blogging – Day 7: New Year

So today is the last day of 2016, and woooow what a year it’s been.  I’m sure that anyone who has been on the internet at any point in the last year has seen the countless memes about how terrible 2016 was.  Yes, politically with Brexit and Trump it’s been a year of… let’s just call them “surprises”, but honestly, looking back on the year from a personal point of view, I could not be more thankful for 2016.

As I touched on in day 4 of my 12 Days of Blogging, I spent a large portion of my life not fully knowing who I was.  I can be quite shy and anxious before you get to know me, so it wasn’t that I was trying to “fit in” per say, but rather I spent a lot of time trying not to stand out, and in doing so I lost myself.  However, in my final year of secondary school, it became to be clear to me that there are always going to be people that don’t like you and don’t understand you, so you may as well enjoy what you do, regardless of others opinions.  Yes, of course I still care what others think of me because I’m a teenager and it happens, but I care a lot less, and it’s made me a lot more free to be myself and figure out who I am.

2016 was also the year that I said goodbye to school.  Initially I didn’t think much of it, after all I was going to University and at the time I thought that it was basically the same thing but harder.  Wow, was I wrong.  In saying goodbye to school, I closed the door on a massive chapter of my life.  For 14 years my life has revolved around school.  I’ve grown up, made (hopefully) life long friends and learnt valuable lessons (as well as random things that I’m never going to need again, let’s be real).  I’m not going to lie, my journey through education has been a particularly rocky one (I’ve been to a total of 5 schools – I may do a post on this sometime soon, we’ll see), but I wouldn’t change it for the world.  Without the journey I experienced through school, there is no way that I’d be the person that I am today, and I’d know the people that I know.  Therefore, 2016 marks the end of a significant milestone in my life.

These are of course but a few of the highlights that 2016 held.  I also started University, turned 19, wrote this blog, held down a part time job, dyed my hair, grew in confidence, got some direction career-wise, learnt how to whistle (poorly), moved away from home, and so many more things.  2016 has been a year of change and a year of growth for me.  There have been a lot of downs, but they’ve pushed me towards something great – personal growth.

I will look back on 2016 with fond memories, and I hope that 2017 brings so many more.

Happy New Year guys,

Lots of love,

Jas xx 

 

BLOGLOVIN’ |  TWITTER  |  INSTAGRAM

Leave a Reply

