12 Days of Blogging – Day 6: Phone Free

I think I’ve gotten to the point where I care about my phone and people’s replies too much and social media is starting to make me feel quite anxious. I wouldn’t say I’m a “slave to social media” or anything, but given the path I’m on, it’s possible that I could get there.

Earlier today I went to see ‘Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them’ in the cinema. Personally, I found the movie quite slow and wasn’t particularly interested, but I also found myself counting down the minutes to when I could turn my phone on again.  I should be able to focus on what I’m doing without worrying about someone needing me on my phone or thinking I’m ignoring them.  So, starting January I’m going to have 2 phone free hours a day, where my phone is switched off entirely and I allow myself to focus on me. I’ve realised recently that I spend too much time worrying about everyone else and thinking “No I have to check my phone, what if a friend is having a problem and I’m not there to deal with it?”, and not enough time worrying about how this time is affecting my mental health.

I feel like sometimes it’s best to just switch off the world around you and focus on yourself.  So, I’m going to give it a go, and take a small step back from technology.  At the end of January I plan to write a post revealing the effect that this had on my general well being, or whether it had any effect at all, so stay tuned!

Tell me what you think, I’d love to hear opinions

Lots of love,

Jas xx

 

BLOGLOVIN’ |  TWITTER  |  INSTAGRAM

13 thoughts on “12 Days of Blogging – Day 6: Phone Free

  1. shortsharkshop says:

    I feel exactly the same! Since I decided to start the blog and do the whole Twitter thing I’ve felt quite anxious too, especially when I lose a follower!

    I’d also resolved to switch my phone off for one hour a day (can’t commit to 2 just yet :P) and focus on reading or colouring or something. I haven’t done it yet though… Maybe next week! Haha 🙂 I hope it goes well for you!

    Liked by 1 person

      • shortsharkshop says:

        Sorry I thought I’d replied to this the other day!

        Yeah the anxiety thing really sucks to the point where some days I’m like “maybe I should just quit” but other days I am so pleased with my blog and Twitter engagement (and just comments from friends and family too!) that I am so glad I stuck with it. When I get a wave of new Twitter followers it makes those single unfollowers seem so insignificant; I’m sure it must me the same for you and everyone else on Twitter because I think it’s largely random companies who just want you to follow back who do unfollow, but then you get the good followers who actually engage and make you feel so happy to be part of the community!

        You’ll do a fab job with your blog! Yours is already one of my faves ;D It’s so worth fighting through the anxiety and going with it! I will definitely stay tuned! 🙂

        Sorry I’ve rambled on a bit here! Hope you’re having a good day!

        Lozzy x

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

