12 Days of Blogging – Day 5: The Power of Words

In the 6 days since I’ve made this blog I have had 7 people subscribe to my blog posts.  People may look at this in comparison to their followers on sites like Twitter and Instagram and view this as nothing, but for me, on WordPress, it’s completely different.  You see, with every other form of social media I’ve joined, I’ve had a set of what I guess you could call “built in followers”; friends, schoolmates, family – people that know me and will follow me for the sake of it.  However, when starting this blog I didn’t have that.

You see I don’t know any of my followers personally, and I didn’t ask them to follow me.  Each of them (I love you guys just in case you couldn’t tell) read my blog, decided they liked what they saw and so hung around and subscribed.  To think that random people, complete strangers, have read my words and liked what they read is really heartwarming and made me really think about the power that words can have.

In one of my English Lit modules, we had a week that focused on “the power of the author” (discussed by Bennett and Royle), in which we examined how much power an author has over their readers.  People have the ability to put pen to paper, (or more likely fingers to keyboard) and change the way that somebody else views things, and that’s pretty amazing.  The thing is, we all do it more than we think that we do…  When we send a text, comment on a picture or even write a birthday card we have the ability to alter someones mood.

It’s often said that the pen is mightier than the sword, but I think that I’ve only recently realised the gravity of that statement.  We live in a world full of modern technology where the responses to what we put on the internet affect us more that we care to admit.  It takes two minutes to send a text to someone reminding them that you love them or you miss that or that they’re a pretty awesome person.  Everything you say and everything you type has the ability to change someone, for better or for worse.  The words we use are the most underrated weapon that we own – try not to take them for granted.

Another massive thank you to anyone who reads this/follows me on here!

Lots of love,

Jas xx

 

BLOGLOVIN’ |  TWITTER  |  INSTAGRAM

2 thoughts on “12 Days of Blogging – Day 5: The Power of Words

Leave a Reply

