12 Days of Blogging – Day 4: Being Me

As I touched on in my first blog post, 2016 has been a year of revelations for me.  I think, above all other years, this is the year that I’ve really come into myself and figured out who I am.

I feel like I spent my last 2 years of secondary school trying to figure out who I had to be for people to like me, or quietly sitting in the corner worried that I’d say the wrong thing.  The problem was that I lacked confidence in myself, and didn’t think that I was enough.  But I think that what everybody needs to realise, and what I have come to realise recently is that you need to be enough for yourself before you can be enough for anybody else.  

I can be shy and awkward at times and I get quite nervous in social situations from time to time, but I am me. I am never going to be the class clown or insanely popular, but what I am going to be is a helpful older sister, a loving daughter and a supportive friend.  We spend too much time hating all the things that we aren’t and not enough time celebrating the things that we are.  

I am only one person, I am never going to be able to tick every box.  However, I am going to take the ones that I can tick and tick them well.

Always remember that you are enough too,

Lots of love,

Jas xx

 

BLOGLOVIN’ |  TWITTER  |  INSTAGRAM

Leave a Reply

