12 Days of Blogging – Day 2: Clean Slates

This second day of Blogging is particularly exciting because I happen to be writing this on my brand new laptop.  I loved my old laptop, it had stuck through me thick and thin from the age of 14, taking me through GCSE revision notes and A-level coursework, but apparently my University essays were too much for it and it started to go crazy (Sounds a little familiar…).  So here I am, on a brand new laptop with a mouse that only moves when I move it, which, trust me, you should never take for granted.

So on one side I have this brand new laptop: a clean, untouched slate with endless possibilities, and on the other I have a hard drive filled with everything from my old one. I know that I’m going to have to upload my old documents and pictures, but I’m also faced with various questions.  I’d had my old laptop for 5 years and it was getting to the point where it was cluttered with years and years of work, some of which I’m never going to touch again.  The nostalgic side of me is telling me that every single thing on there is a memory I can’t get rid of, but part of me thinks it’s time to move on.

This made me think back to September, just before I was about to leave for University.  I was going to a new city, with new people, and no family and friends around.  No one knew anything about my past or my present, I had a completely clean slate to make any impression that I wanted.  Although the idea of a clean slate is very appealing, clean slates can also be very intimidating.  You have this blank, untouched canvas… there’s so much pressure to make your next move perfect.  Do you stick to what you know and keep those old documents and files,  or do you disregard everything that’s come before and enter as a new person,  creating new documents from scratch?  I suppose it’s a question of whether you dive into the unknown or stay wrapped in your security blanket.  

2017 is on its way, which means time for the “New year, new me” mentality to circulate the internet, but maybe it’s not a “new us” that we need.  I think I’ve decided, with both my laptop and life, that it’s best to do a bit of both.  Take what you need from that old hard drive; keep the memories that made you stronger, made you smile, and made you who you are, but make sure you leave room for new material.  Never completely grab hold of the past, but hold on to enough to shape what you do from now on.

Hope you’re all having a great bank holiday!

Lots of love,

Jas xx

 

BLOGLOVIN’ |  TWITTER  |  INSTAGRAM

Leave a Reply

